The seven Chakras – Foundation and Meaning

Chakras Meaning

Long ago, ancient cultures developed a system to explain why disease, imbalances and suffering in our bodies occur. According to old Hindu beliefs, life force (prana), is carried throughout our bodies in channels. This energy is being collected in seven energy centers called chakras. Chakra is the Sanskrit word for wheel. Chakras can be seen as rotating circles spinning energy around our bodies. When energy is blocked or cannot flow freely, then imbalance develops.

This blog post is about the foundations of chakras: What are the seven chakras, where are they located in our bodies, to which emotions do they correspond, what happens if our chakras are out of balance, and what can we do to balance our chakras again.

The seven Chakras – Foundation and Meaning

1. Root Chakra – Muladhara

Muladhara Chakra

Survival – Earth – Foundation

Muladhara or root chakra is our survival chakra and related to the element earth. Our root chakra derives from the words Mula meaning ’to root’ and Dhara, which is ‘support’. Our root or earth chakra is all about foundation and grounding. Think of it as feeling safe, rooted and surviving on this planet. Such as, it corresponds to the beliefs: “I am. I feel safe. I trust myself – I trust others. I deserve to be here. I love my body”.

Out of balance

  • Weak: abandonment, social isolation, insecurities, sadness, depression, low self esteem
  • Too high: selfishness, distrust, greediness
  • Body: lower back pain, overweight or anorexia, constipation
  • Addictions: food, alcohol, sex
  • Stimulation: grounding, yoga (focus on hips, legs, feet), walking in nature, gardening

2. Sacral Chakra – Swadhishana

Water – Creativity – Emotions

Our sacral chakra is related to our emotions, to sexuality and creativity. It is located below our belly button and corresponds to the element water. Our Sacral Chakra brings creative energy to enjoy life – it is about your identity as a human or ‘the place of the self’, as it is translated. We say “I feel. I’m in touch with my emotions. Creativity flows through me. My sexuality is vibrant. Relationships are joy. I attract like-minded people who support and love me.”

Out of Balance

  • Weak: too emotional, no (or bad) emotional or social boundaries, codependent and overly attached, guilt
  • Over active: not in touch with emotions, fear of change, need to manipulate and control, fear of intimacy, frustration
  • Body: problems with reproductive organs, kidneys, bladder
  • Addictions: sex, work, relationships, sugar
  • Stimulation: massage, music, warm bath, calm yoga (yin yoga, restorative yoga, hip openers)

3. Solarplexus Chakra – Manipura

Fire – Will Power – Energy Center

Our third energy center is known as Solarplexus or Manipura Chakra. It is located just between your navel and below the center of your chest and the seat of will power, confidence, energy and personal power.

Manipura Chakra is connected to the element fire, that is the source of energy and activity that makes you feel like a warrior. The words “I do. I am strong. I am motivated to get things done” do best describe the Solarplexus Chakra.

Out of balance

  • Weak: lack of self-esteem, can’t handle criticism, fear of rejection, weakness, passivity
  • Over active: anger, forcefulness, focus on professional and social status, dominant
  • Body: digestive organs, food allergies, diabetes
  • Addictions: sugar, caffein, food, compulsive cleaning
  • Stimulation: power yoga, fitness, swimming, trekking

4. Heart Chakra – Anahata

Air – Love – Connection

The heart Chakra is the 4th Chakra and is centered right in the center of your chest. The heart chakra connects the three chakras located at the lower body with the three chakras located at the upper body which are following next. Translated from Sanskrit, Anahata means unhurt. When the heart chakra is open and balanced, you are feeling love, compassion and openness for others. One with an open heart chakra would feel connected with the following words: “I am loved. I love myself. I’m open to receiving. I want to share. I forgive myself. I forgive others.”

Out of Balance

  • Weak: possessiveness, judgmental, fear of intimacy, social isolation, too much focus on the rational
  • Over active: dependency, sadness, desperation, envy, loneliness, depression, hungry for love and attention
  • Body: poor circulations, problems, high blood pressure, stroke, problems with airways, upper back and shoulders
  • Addictions: nicotine, marihuana
  • Stimulation: charity work, reading, writing poetry, romance, heart opening yoga sequences

5. Throat Chakra – Visuddha

Ether – Sound – Expression

The throat chakra is the center for communication. Located at the point of the throat and neck, our throat chakra is the link between emotions (heart, lower body) and our thoughts (head). A person with a balanced throat chakra is able to fully express his or her own truth. Words associated to the throat chakra are: “I speak. I communicate with ease. I feel safe to speak the truth. My voice is heard. I am balanced in speaking and listening”.

Out of balance

  • Weak: talking too much, frustration critical of self and others, loud, confused
  • Over active: Fear of speaking up, dishonesty, low self esteem, social isolation, difficulties with communication
  • Body: sore throat, problems with upper airways, dental health issues, stiffness in the neck, stuttering
  • Addictions: smoking, drugs, excessive workouts
  • Stimulation: Singing, chanting, reading poetry out loud, keeping a diary, dancing, drumming

6. Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

Light – Intuition – Wisdom – Insight

The third eye chakra is associated with the element light. It is located on the forehead right between the eyebrows. Translated from Sanskrit, Ajna means ‘command’ or ‘perceiving’. The third eye chakra is related to Intuition, foresight, the ability to see clearly and higher knowledge. One may say: “I see. I trust my intuition. I’m connected to my true path and purpose. I can hear the voice of my soul. I have unlimited possibilities” in relation to a balanced third eye chakra.

Out of balance

  • Weak: denial, cynicism, extreme pragmatism, not believing in a purpose
  • Over-active: confusion, delusion, no purpose, memory loss
  • Body: headaches, sinusitis, learning disabilities, anxiety, nightmares
  • Addictions: Shopping, possessiveness
  • Stimulations: logging your dreams, meditation

7. Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

Spiritual Connection – Complete Balance – Enlightment

The seventh and last chakra is our crown chakra or Sahasrara. It exists on top of our head, and relates to our nervous system, pineal gland and brain. Where the root chakra is there for grounding us, the crown chakra connects us to the pure universal energy of the divine. In balance, it is related to the beliefs: “I understand. I am complete. I am connected to my higher self. I am light and I let shine. I am here to make a difference. I am part of the Universal flow.”

Out of balance

  • Weak: materialistic, not in touch with spirituality and reality, denial of spiritualism, cynicism
  • Over active: worry, depression, psychosis, mental illness, addicted to spirituality
  • Body: skin problems, overly tired, burn out, oversensitive to light and sound
  • Addictions: psychedelic drugs, material greediness
  • Stimulation: breathing in awareness, chanting, silent meditations

Our Yoga Teacher Trainings are designed around the principles of Yin and Yang. As our modern life is often Yang focussed, we are aiming to bring more Yin and therewith balance into our life again. Learn how, and take your yoga practice to a deeper level by joining our 22-day, 200-hour Vinyasa Yin Yoga Teacher Training in Bali.

200 Hours Yoga Certification Courses 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *