The Five Important Niyamas Of Yoga

yoga teacher training

Yoga is an ancient mechanism that has helped humans to evolve not only physically but mentally and spiritually over the ages. The niyamas are types of observances that guide us in improving our core selves. They comprise of contentment, self-study, surrender, self-discipline, and purity. These observances help in magnifying our vision and make us learn to be present at the moment. We have to practice these five observances every day to get the best out of them. If you are interested in learning these five principles then consider Inner Yoga Training for yoga certification 2020 course to learn yoga and excel in your life.

Santosha (Contentment)

We are living in a world that is constantly in
a jittery mood and complains about what we are missing or do not have. Santosha
signifies contentment, and it shows us to stop focussing on the outside and
take contentment with what we have with us in the present moment. It makes us
introspect our daily lives and reminds us to be thankful for things we do have,
instead of finding dissatisfaction in every aspect of our lives.

Svadhyaya (Self-study)

Most of us aren’t aware of the workings of our minds and bodies. Svadhyaya which signifies self-study assists us in being a detached observer and study our conditionings and patterns that repeat related to our existence in all its facets. When one starts to peel the outer layers of the personality, they finally reach the core; this is a long process and requires a thorough study of self via strict observance.

Saucha (Purity)

The word saucha means purity. In modern times
we have collected an excess of debris which is no good for us. This excess
piles up and requires cleaning of mind body and emotions. The residues are
damaging to our well-being no matter its kind. Saucha niyama tells us to
cleanse our attention and keep it grudge free. It teaches us to stay in the
living moment instead of wandering in the past or the future.

Tapas (Self-Discipline And Heat)

This term signifies self-discipline and heat.
It enables us to get rid of our undesirable characteristics such as sloth,
laziness ego and selfishness. Removing these obstacles gives enough provision
for overall growth. Tapas niyama allows one to evolve exponentially and
increases the potential of a person substantially.

Ishwara Pranidhana (Surrender)

The above term implies surrender. Surrendering
is a critical aspect of this niyama as it helps us to identify the creative
force behind the universal consciousness and life. The Ishwara pranidhana helps
us to accept every moment with a welcoming heart. It asks us to let go of
different attachments and move through life in a dignified manner.

Inner Yoga Training

If you are looking to become a yoga professional and learn the inner dynamics related to yoga, then yoga teacher training in Bali is the ideal option for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *